Skip to main content

European neighbourhood policy

The European neighbourhood policy (ENP) governs the EU's relations with 16 of its closest eastern and southern partners. As a key element of the EU foreign policy, the ENP focuses on stabilising the region in political, economic and security terms.


Eastern partnership

The Eastern Partnership aims to strengthen relations between the EU and its six Eastern neighbours: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

Southern neighbourhood

Cooperation with the Southern Neighbourhood includes ten partner countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine*, Syria and Tunisia.

Neighbourhood-wide cooperation

To complement bilateral and regional cooperation programmes, neighbourhood-wide cooperation programmes have also been established, since some aid activities can be managed more efficiently and flexibly at interregional level.


  • stabilising neighbouring countries through economic development, employability and youth, transport and energy connectivity, migration, mobility and security
  • promoting key EU interests of good governance, democracy, rule of law and human rights
  • facilitating cooperation at regional level: Eastern Partnership, Union for the Mediterranean


The European neighbourhood policy offers a framework for more effective and stronger partnerships with the EU's eastern and southern neighbours, based on common interests and action on both sides. 

The EU promotes stability and fosters cooperation with the countries concerned by providing financial support through the European Neighbourhood Instrument.


9 JANUARY 2018
Review of the European neighbourhood policy