Skip to main content

How the Commission is organised

The European Commission is divided into departments that develop policies for specific areas. Each department is headed by Commissioners. Overall, the Commission works under the leadership of a President. 

Political leadership

The Commission is steered by a group of 27 Commissioners, known as 'the college'. Together they take decisions on the Commission's political and strategic direction.

A new college of Commissioners is appointed every 5 years.

Political leadership

Departments and agencies

The Commission is organised into policy departments, known as Directorates-General (DGs), which are responsible for different policy areas. DGs develop, implement and manage EU policy, law, and funding programmes. In addition, service departments deal with particular administrative issues. Executive agencies manage programmes set up by the Commission.

Full list of DGs, service departments and executive agencies

Departments and agencies

Relocation of the UK-based EU agencies

Commission offices

The Commission has offices throughout the world. Inside the EU, representation offices act as the Commission’s voice in their host country. Here you can find information about EU activities, and order brochures, leaflets and other materials.

Offices outside the EU, known as delegations, are managed by the European External Action Service. They help promote EU interests and policies as well as undertake a variety of outreach programmes.

Find Commission offices in the EU and worldwide.

Local offices