Skip to main content
Λογότυπος της Ευρωπαϊκής Επιτροπής

Sibylle Günter



Sibylle Günter studied physics at Rostock University, Germany, where she completed her PhD in 1990. After an extended research stay in the USA, she became staff member at the Max-Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP) in 1996. In 2000, she was appointed Member of the Max Planck Society and director at IPP. Since 2001 she has been adjunct professor at Rostock University, since 2006 honorary professor at TU Munich. In 2011 she was appointed Scientific Director of IPP. Sibylle Günter is elected member of the National Academy of Science and Engineering of Germany (Acatech), of the Academia Europaea and corresponding member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Science (SATW). She is the coordinator of the EUROfusion consortium, involving 30 fusion laboratories from 27 member states and Switzerland.