

Brussels, 12.10.2020 P(2020) 7

DECISION OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION of 12 October 2020

amending Decision P(2019) 1 of 1 December 2019 on the organisation of responsibilities of the Members of the Commission

EN EN

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

On 1 December 2019, the President of the European Commission adopted Decision P(2019) 1 on the organisation of responsibilities of the Members of the Commission, indicating the areas for which the Members of the Commission are specifically responsible.

Following the resignation of Mr Phil Hogan as Member of the Commission (Commissioner for Trade) on 26 August 2020, this Decision was amended by the Decision of the President P(2020) 5 of 27 August 2020 to temporarily transfer the responsibilities for trade to Executive Vice-President Valdis Dombrovskis.

On XX 2020, the Council, by common accord with the President of the European Commission after consulting the European Parliament, appointed Ms Mairead McGuinness as Member of the Commission pursuant to Article 246, subparagraph 2, of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union.

The President has decided to allocate to Ms Mairead McGuiness the responsibilities of Financial Services, Financial Stability and the Capital Markets Union and to permanently allocate the responsibilities of trade to Executive Vice President Valdis Dombrovskis.

The present decision amends accordingly Decision P(2019) 1, as amended by Decision P(2020) 5, on the organisation of responsibilities of the Members of the Commission.

The Commission is invited to take note of this decision.

Decision of the President of the European Commission amending Decision P(2019) 1 of 1 December 2019 on the organisation of responsibilities of the Members of the Commission

THE PRESIDENT OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION.

Having regard to the Treaty on the European Union,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community,

Having regard to the Commission's Rules of Procedure, and in particular Articles 3 and 25 thereof,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

Article 2(1) of Decision P(2019) 1 is amended as follows:

1. after Virginijus SINKEVIČIUS, the following is added:

Mairead McGUINNESS

Commissioner for Financial Services, Financial Stability and the Capital Markets Union

2. the indication of the areas for which Valdis DOMBROVSKIS is specifically responsible is replaced by the following:

Executive Vice-President for an Economy that Works for People, and Commissioner for Trade

Article 2

The table in the annex of the present Decision presents the changes brought to the overview of the allocation of responsibilities of Members of the Commission and services that report to them. The changes are inserted following the order established by Article 1 of the present Decision.

Done at Brussels, 12 October 2020.

The President

Ursula von der Leyen

AMENDMENT TO THE ALLOCATION OF RESPONSIBILITIES AND SUPPORTING SERVICES

Responsibilities	Names	Services
An Economy that Works for People Trade	Valdis Dombrovskis	Secretariat-General for the Executive Vice-President coordination role DG Trade (TRADE) for the Commissioner's role

Financial Services, Financial Stability and the Capital Markets Union	Mairead McGUINNESS	DG Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union (DG FISMA) $^{\it I}$
		Responsible for relations with: - European Banking Authority (EBA) - European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA) - European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) - European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB) - Single Resolution Board (SRB)

-

¹ The structural changes provided for in Decision P(2019) 1 have been implemented by 1 January 2020 and remain valid.