

Brussels, 20.7.2022 C(2022) 5097 final

## **DECISION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION**

appointing the members of the Independent Ethical Committee established by Commission Decision C(2018)700 of 31 January 2018 on a Code of Conduct for the Members of the European Commission

EN EN

### **COMMISSION DECISION**

## of 20 July 2022

# appointing the members of the Independent Ethical Committee established by Commission Decision C(2018)700 of 31 January 2018 on a Code of Conduct for the Members of the European Commission

### THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION.

Having regard to the Treaty on European Union,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community,

Having regard to Commission Decision C(2018)700 of 31 January 2018 on a Code of Conduct for the Members of the European Commission, and in particular Article 12 thereof,

#### Whereas:

- 1) Article 12(1) of Commission Decision C(2018)700 on a Code of Conduct for the Members of the European Commission (the Code) provides that the Independent Ethical Committee advises the Commission, on request of the President, on any ethical question related to the Code and provides general recommendations to the Commission on ethical issues relevant under the Code;
- 2) In particular, under the conditions set out in Article 11(3) of the Code, the Independent Ethical Committee advises the Commission on the compatibility with Article 245 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union of the post term of office activities in which former Members of the Commission plan to engage after having ceased to hold office in the Commission;
- 3) Article 12(4) of the Code provides that the Commission, on a proposal from the President, shall appoint the members of the Committee for a term of three years, renewable once;
- 4) The current term of Ms Dagmar Roth-Behrendt, Mr Heinz Zourek and Mr Allan Rosas ended on 12 July 2022;
- 5) In accordance with Article 12(4) of the Code, Mr Allan Rosas may be reappointed for a second term as member of the Committee:
- 6) Also in accordance with Article 12(4) of the Code, Ms Dagmar Roth-Behrendt and Mr Heinz Zourek may not be reappointed for a third term;

7) The Commission considers that Mr Allan Rosas', Ms Elisabeth Morin Chartier's and Mr Jerzy Plewa's profile fully corresponds to the requirements of competence, experience, independence and professional qualities for Members of the Independent Ethical Committee, as established by Article 12(4) of the Code.

## HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

### Sole Article

Mr Allan ROSAS, Ms Elisabeth MORIN CHARTIER and Mr Jerzy PLEWA are appointed members of the Independent Ethical Committee established by Commission Decision C(2018)700 as from 20 July 2022 for a term of three years.

Done at Brussels, on 20 July 2022.

For the Commission The President