

Programmes

EU Arctic Forum and Indigenous Peoples' dialogue Brussels, Belgium – Charlemagne Building

10 November: EU Arctic Forum

08:00-08:30 Registration and welcome coffee

08:30-09:00 **Opening of event/Keynote address**

Mr BORRELL FONTELLES Josep, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Policy and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission

Mr SINKEVIČIUS Virginijus, EU Commissioner for Environment, Oceans, Fisheries

09:00-10:20 International Cooperation in the Arctic

Moderator: Mr RASPOTNIK Andreas, Austrian Marshall Plan Fellow, Wilson Center & Senior Research Fellow, Fridtjof Nansen Institute

H.E. HAAVISTO Pekka Olavi, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Finland

Mr RYDBERG Robert, Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden

Mr. WINKLER Thomas, The Kingdom of Denmark's Ambassador to the Arctic

Mr. GRÍMSSON Ólafur Ragnar, Chairman of the Arctic Circle

Ms LARSSON-BLIND Åsa, Vice President of the Saami Council

Ms FLENSBORG Louise C., All-Atlantic Ocean Youth Ambassador 2020-2021

10:20-10:45 Coffee Break

10:45-12:15 Panel Session: Addressing the climate change and environmental challenges

Moderator: Mr JUNG Thomas, Vice-Director of the Alfred Wegener Institute, Professor at the University of Bremen

Ms FINK-HOOIJER Florika, Director-General, DG ENV, European Commission

Mr POIVRE D'ARVOR Olivier, French Ambassador for the Poles and Maritime Issues

Ms SCHALDEMOSE Christel, Member of the European Parliament, Vice-Chair of the delegation for Northern cooperation and for relations with Switzerland and Norway and to the EU-Iceland and the European Economic Area Joint Parliamentary Committees (DEEA)

Ms RÖNKÄ Mia, Chair of the CAFF Working Group, Arctic Council

Mr DUSIK Jan, Specialist in Sustainable Development at the WWF Arctic Programme

Ms. CASTELLANI Giulia, Researcher in ice-ecosystems at the Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research



12:15-13:30 Lunch

13:30-15:00 Panel Session: Enhancing sustainable and inclusive economic development

Moderator: Mr MANN Michael, EU Special Envoy for Arctic Matters

Ms VITCHEVA Charlina, Director-General, DG MARE, European Commission

Ms FREDRIKSON Anu, Executive Director Arctic Frontiers

Ms HÖCKERT Emily, Researcher at the University of Lapland, communication manager of the ARCTISEN project

Ms SØRENSEN Lise Lotte, Head of Section (Atmospheric measurements), Senior Scientist and Council member of the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)

Mr FREDERIKSEN Mads Qvist, Director of the Arctic Economic Council

Ms SCHAAFSMA Fokje, Marine Biologist and Polar Researcher at Wageningen Marine Research

15:00-15:30 Coffee Break

15:30-16:50 Panel Session: A safe, secure and resilient Arctic

Moderator: Mr RASPOTNIK Andreas, Austrian Marshall Plan Fellow, Wilson Center & Senior Research Fellow, Fridtjof Nansen Institute

Mr PETSCHKE Matthias, Director for Space, DG DEFIS, European Commission

Ms KUHMUNEN Sara-Elvira, President of Sáminuorra, Sámi youth association in Sweden

Ms KOPCZYNSKA Magda, Director for Waterborne Transport, DG MOVE, European Commission

Ms ÅGREN Nina, Executive Secretary of the Emergency Preparedness, Prevention and Response Working Group of the Arctic Council

Mr. INGEMAN-NIELSEN Thomas, Associate Professor at the Technical University of Denmark, vice-chair of the Greenland Research Council, member of the Nunataryuk project.

16:50-17:00 **Conclusion**

Ms VITCHEVA Charlina, Director-General, DG MARE, European Commission

18:00 Reception

Location: Thon Hotel, rue de la Loi 75



11 November: Arctic Indigenous Peoples' dialogue

08:30-09:00 Registration and welcome coffee

09:00-09:30 Welcome

Ms VITCHEVA Charlina, Director-General, DG MARE, European Commission

Ms LARSSON-BLIND Åsa, Vice President of the Saami Council (representing the

National Union of the Swedish Saami People)

Mr OLSEN Inuuteq Holm, Minister Counsellor, Greenland Representation to the EU

09:30-10:45 Panel Session: Fostering an inclusive policy

Moderator: Mr MANN Michael, EU Special Envoy for Arctic Matters

Ms OMMA Elle Merete, Head of the EU unit of the Saami Council

Ms ODDSDOTTIR Embla Eir, Director of the Icelandic Arctic Cooperation Network

Mr BELL John, Director for a Healthy Planet, DG RTD, European Commission

Mr CHUFFART Romain, Research Associate and Leadership Group member at The Arctic Institute

10:45-11:15 Coffee Break

11:15-12:30 Panel Session: A young Arctic

Moderator: Ms RETTER Gunn-Britt, Saami Council

Ms HARDENBERG Nuiana, Member of the Youth Advisory Team of the CAFF Working Group

Ms ANGELOVA-KRASTEVA Antoaneta, Director for International Cooperation, DG EAC, European Commission

Ms NIITTYVUOPIO Anni-Sofia, Chair of the Youth Council of the Saami Parliament of Finland

Mr TOKARSKI Slawomir, Director for European Territorial Cooperation, DG REGIO, European Commission

Mr NYGÅRD Ole Martin Melbøe, Youth Leader, Troms and Finnmark County Council, Norway

12:30-13:00 **Keynote speech**

Ms GABRIEL Mariya, EU Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth

Conclusion

Mr MANN Michael, EU Special Envoy for Arctic Matters

13:00-13:30 Standing Lunch