# 1<sup>st</sup> EU-U.S. High-Level Forum on Small Modular Reactors

Schuman room (Berlaymont building)

# **PROGRAMME**

- 0. Arrival and check-in 8:00–9:00 am
- Welcome remarks by Director General of DG ENER Ditte Juul Jørgensen and U.S. Ambassador to the EU Gordon Sondland 9:00-9:10 (10 minutes)
- 2. EC Keynote Address by Commissioner Miguel Arias Cañete 9:10–9:30 am (20 minutes)
- 3. U.S. Keynote Address by U.S. Secretary of Energy Rick Perry 9:30–9:50 am (20 minutes)
- 4. Keynote Address by the Chair of the ITRE Committee of the European Parliament Adina-Ioana Vălean

9:50–10:00 am (10 minutes)

- 5. Keynote Address by IEA Executive Director Fatih Birol on international trends 10:00–10:15 am (15 minutes)
- 6. Keynote Address by NEA Director General William D. Magwood on international trends 10:15–10:30 am (15 minutes)
- 7. Coffee break 10:30-10:45 am (15 minutes)
- 8. CEO Roundtable Panel session A: "Outlook for SMRs the view of the private sector" 10:45-1:00 pm (2 hours 15 minutes)

Roundtable discussion

The EU Perspective (10:45-11:45)

Chair: Yves Desbazeille, Director General, FORATOM

#### Participants:

- Sandor Liive, Chairman, co-founder, Fermi Energia
- Jacques Peythieu, Member of executive committee of Orano
- Xavier Ursat, Chief Executive Officer, EDF

- Petr Závodský, Director, CEZ
- Cosmin Ghita, CEO of Nuclearelectrica
- Satu Helynen, Vice-President for nuclear energy and safety research, VTT Finland
- David Dubin, Citibank Managing Director for Energy and infrastructure

### 9. Coffee break

11:45-12:00 pm (15 minutes)

*The US Perspective (12:00-1:00)* 

Chair: Maria Korsnick, President and Chief Executive Officer, Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI)

- David Durham, President, Plant Solutions, Westinghouse
- John L. Hopkins, Chairman and CEO of NuScale Power, LLC
- Thomas Marcille, Vice President of Reactor Technologies and Chief Nuclear Officer of SMR LLC, Holtec International
- Jay Wileman, President and CEO, GE-Hitachi
- Clay Sell, Chief Executive Officer, xEnergy
- Chris Levesque, President and CEO, Terra Power
- Daniel B. Poneman, President and CEO, Centrus Energy Corp.
- Thomas White, Chairman, President CEO, Sargent & Lundy
- David Blee, President and CEO, U.S. Nuclear Industry Council

## 10. Working lunch buffet

1:00-2:00 pm (1 hour)

# 11. Panel session B: "Outlook for SMRs - the view of the public sector" 2:00 pm-3:15 pm (1 hour 15 minutes)

Roundtable discussion

Chair: Ted J. Garrish, DOE Assistant Secretary for International Affairs

# Participants:

- Jaroslav Míl, Czech Government Envoy for Nuclear Energy
- Meelis Münt, Secretary General of Estonian Ministry of Environment
- François Jacq, Chairman of France's Commission for Atomic and Alternative Energies (CEA)
- Dr. Rita Baranwal, Assistant Secretary, US Office of Nuclear Energy
- Craig Lester, Deputy Director, Advanced Nuclear Innovation Team at the UK Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
- Riku Huttunen, Director General for Energy, Finnish Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment

#### 12. Coffee break

3:15-3:35 pm (20 minutes)

# 13. Panel session C: "The Nuclear Safety Regulators' perspective on SMRs" 3:35-5:05 pm (1 hour 30 minutes)

### Roundtable discussion

Chair: Massimo Garribba, Deputy Director-General (acting), Directorate General for Energy, European Commission

### Participants:

- Mr. Petteri Tiippana, Director General, Finnish Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK)
- Mr. Mark Foy, Chief Nuclear Inspector, ONR
- Julien Collet, Deputy Director General, Nuclear Safety Authority of France (ASN)
- Ms. Kristine Svinicki, Chairman, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission NRC)
- Ms. Rumina Velshi, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)
- 14. Closing remarks by DOE Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy Dr. Rita Baranwal 5:05 pm 5:10 pm (5 minutes)
- 15. Closing remarks by DG ENER Ditte Juul Jørgensen 5:10pm 5:15 pm (5 minutes)
- 16. Closing reception 5:15-6:30 pm