

Brussels, 25.6.2019 C(2019) 5200 final

## **COMMISSION DECISION**

of 25.6.2019

appointing the members of the Independent Ethical Committee established by Commission Decision C(2018)700 of 31 January 2018 on a Code of Conduct for the Members of the European Commission

EN EN

#### COMMISSION DECISION

### of 25.6.2019

# appointing the members of the Independent Ethical Committee established by Commission Decision C(2018)700 of 31 January 2018 on a Code of Conduct for the Members of the European Commission

## THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION,

Having regard to the Treaty on European Union,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community,

Having regard to Commission Decision C(2018)700 of 31 January 2018 on a Code of Conduct for the Members of the European Commission, and in particular Article 12 thereof,

#### Whereas:

- (1) Article 12(1) of Commission Decision C(2018)700 on a Code of Conduct for the Members of the European Commission (the Code) provides that the Independent Ethical Committee advises the Commission, on request of the President, on any ethical question related to the Code and provides general recommendations to the Commission on ethical issues relevant under the Code;
- (2) In particular, under the conditions set out in Article 11(3) of the Code, the Independent Ethical Committee advises the Commission on the compatibility with Article 245 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union of the post term of office activities in which former Members of the Commission plan to engage after having ceased to hold office in the Commission.
- (3) Article 12(4) of the Code provides that the Commission, on a proposal from the President, shall appoint the members of the Committee for a term of three years, renewable once:
- (4) The current term of Ms Dagmar Roth-Behrendt, Mr Christiaan Timmermans and Mr Heinz Zourek ends on 12 July 2019.

## HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

#### Sole Article

Ms Dagmar ROTH-BEHRENDT, Mr Christiaan TIMMERMANS and Mr Heinz ZOUREK are appointed members of the Independent Ethical Committee established by Commission Decision C(2018)700 as from 13 July 2019 for a term of three years.

For the Commission The President